Cash Flow Crunch Cookies

Sometimes being a freelancer sucks. Most times it is great. What makes it sucks is CASH FLOW. Sometimes there isn’t any. This week is a no cash flow week. I can cope well enough. I am stocked up with household items, can rob the kids piggy bank if I need to pay for a field trip and, thankfully, I work from home and don’t need to buy gas for the car.

So, today I needed to get some baking done for school lunches. I had some quick oats and chocolate chips. Ah ha! I will make chocolate chip oatmeal cookies… but alas, no butter and maybe 1/3 cup of margarine. Crap! I dug through the cupboard and found stick of Crisco Shortening. I decided to use it… and I found a couple other cool things in the pantry too! Here is my recipe for:

CASH FLOW CRUNCH COOKIES!

  • 1 cup or stick of Crisco® Shortening
  • 1 tsp Wilton butter flavour extract (or not) it was in the back of the pantry
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs (ideally from the farm by my parents house – but use whatcha got!)
  • 1/4 cup milk (or not. You could make this dairy free – use water or rum or vodka… oh, this is for school lunches)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup oatmeal flour, again this was in my cupboard and there were no bugs.
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups quick rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut…. or really any other stuff you got kicking around. Raisins, cranberries, nuts…
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips or whatever you got. Smarties would be good in them too.

DIRECTIONS:

    1. HEAT oven to 350°F.

2. MIX shortening, granulated sugar and brown sugar in bowl of electric mixer; beat at medium speed until well blended. Add eggs, milk and maple extract. Beat until blended.

3. COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in medium bowl. Add gradually to shortening mixture at low speed. Beat until well blended. Stir in oats and chocolate chips.

4.DROP by slightly rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets or use the best thing ever… parchment paper.

5.BAKE 9 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 2 minutes on baking sheets. Place on cooling racks to cool completely.

I got 4 dozen out this – you could make them smaller and get more. Or make them bigger and get less. Go crazy!

PS. This cash flow issue is temporary. Got lots of great projects in the works! Though, I will still make these great cookies!

3 Comments

  1. I would bake these if I actually had money to buy the ingredients. This week was also a no cash flow week for me as well. I too am glad that I work from home as I watch the gas prices go up!! Here’s to your cookies and more cash! Thanks for the recipe!
    Rachel

    • I was lucky it’s what was in the house. Cash flow sucks. I do plan for this…. but sometimes life happens and gas is 135.9. Jeepers!

  2. Hey! Where is my hiking recipe?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

